What constitutes the beginning of the serve?

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Phillip Simmons

Phillip Simmons Asked 3 years ago

I have a friend whose pre-serve routine is throwing the ball up and bouncing the ball off his racket several times before he serves. Since he is throwing the ball up before letting it fall and hit the racket, doesn't that indicate the beginning of the serve and therefore he should lose the point once he catches it?

Also, many times the ball bounces off the racket and he has to stop and go retrieve it, which is distracting and really slows the game down.

How would this be called in an official  tournament?

Thanks,

Phil


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Phil,

He would probably get away with it in a tournament in most cases.  the bouncing on the bat would be looked on as his pre point routine... as annoying as it is for you. It would be up to the umpire.

They usually interpret the start of the serve as when they hold the ball still in their hand before throwing it up.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

F Wilson

F Wilson Posted 3 years ago

More often than I like, an opponent in a doubles match will make a comment after the serve has started the point and play is continuing asking the score or making other distracting comments.  Is it proper to stop play or play through the disruption and suffer the loss of point if you are distracted and make an error??

Thanks, F.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

There shouldn't be any talking during the point.  It is probably better to stop the point if you are distracted.


newg ping

newg ping Posted 3 years ago

I like this, thanks a lot of pingskills. This will my help my skill getting better and better.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.