Umpire mistake

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Gordon Hume

Gordon Hume Asked 5 years ago

Hi, Alois

I was watching a YouTube video of the womens' doubles final at the 2011 WTTC at:-

http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=7RO3v3n-e-4#t=148

there's a rally where Ding Ning does a great save from under the table, but the umpire mistakenly awards the point to her opponents (it's corrected afterwards).

Apart from wanting to share such a great shot with everyone else here, my question is why would the umpire have made that initial decision. do you think?

Regards

Gord


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Gordon,

Thanks for sharing the shot with us.  

I think the umpire would have just been confused initially.  There is no doubt it was Ding Ning’s  teams point.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Raghav  Binwal

Raghav Binwal Posted 5 years ago

Please explain


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

What would you like to know Raghavde?


Raghav  Binwal

Raghav Binwal Posted 5 years ago

Sir, I want to know whether if an umpire makes a mistake , and does not correct it , what.Should we do? Looking For a answer. Yours sincerely, Raghav.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Hi Raghav,

You can question the umpire.  If it is a point of law then you can ask for the referee if there is one at the tournament.  If it is a local match and the umpire is just one of the players then there is not much you can do except point out the mistake and ask them to change.


Xariuz Cruz

Xariuz Cruz Posted 5 years ago

Last time my friend encounter a stupid umpire too. 
When his opponent serves and the ball touches the net, my friend grabs it with his hand and then the umpire gives the point to his opponent instead. My friend asks him and he answered:" I am the umpire, I decide whether the ball touches the net or not."


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

In fact Xarius, the umpire is right.  It may not be the right decision but we do have to play by what the umpire says.


Xariuz Cruz

Xariuz Cruz Posted 5 years ago

OMG
But WHAT IF we took a video of the mistake? Can we give it to the umpire to watch it?

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Unfortunately no… there is no video review in Table Tennis.  I think it is best to just get on with the game.


Kaustubh Kulkarni

Kaustubh Kulkarni Posted 5 years ago

I too have seen such umpires.

Once I was playing State Ranking Tournament, and my opponent was leading 2-0(he had won 2 sets). The umpire(a qualified one) showed a set score of 2-1 on the scoreboard!undecided

I too told him it was wrong score but he didn't change the score!innocent



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.