Touching the table

Rules

Ross Lomas
Ross Lomas Asked 6 years ago

https://www.facebook.com/tabletennishamilton/videos/2189169441334259/

Good evening Alois, above is a link to a video of a player over balancing after his shot and touching the table, is this a legal play or not?

Regards

Ross


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Ross,

Once the point is over it is fine to touch the table.  Just by listening to the ball here it sounds like the ball has touched something else after the table before he touches the table. That would mean the  point is finished by the time he touches the table.

It is hard to tell here but it is probably legal.

I recognise that hall in Hamilton... great stadium.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ceiling

When the ball hits the ceiling the point is over. You must hit the ball directly back onto the table otherwise you lose the point. In International tournaments the roof needs to be at least 5 metres above the playing surface but in local competitions you might often encounter much lower ceilings.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.