Touching the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

julian baquero

julian baquero Asked 5 years ago

So recently i´ve heard that it is no longer forbidden to touch the table in the middle of a point cutting a short serve for example, i wouild like to know if its true.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Julian,

It has always been legal to touch the table with your bat.  The only thing that isn’t allowed to touch the surface of the table is your free hand.

I hope this clears it up for you.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Kaustubh Kulkarni

Kaustubh Kulkarni Posted 5 years ago

What if the hand in which we are holding racket touches the table?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

That is allowed.


Kaustubh Kulkarni

Kaustubh Kulkarni Posted 5 years ago

Thank you Alois


khalid khan

khalid khan Posted 5 years ago

What if you hide the serve

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 5 years ago

Thats is not allowed.  You need to have the ball visible to your opponent throughout the serve.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.