Touching playing surface in doubles

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Les Edmunds

Les Edmunds Asked 5 years ago

Hello,

Would you please settle an argument I am having with some friends. I say that once the ball has left the palm of the server in doubles if the non playing hands of any of the 4 players touches the playing surface during the rally then it is a fault regardless of whose turn it is to hit the ball. Would you also advise whether this rule is relaxed if one of those players is disabled and may on occasion lose balance and lean on or touch the playing surface with his non playing hand............. Your videos and question and answer section are great.........keep up the good work.........Happy Christmas ............Les


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Les,

If anyones hand touches the table at any time during the rally it is still a point to the other player or team.

At the highest level of Paralympics, even if the player is disabled they should still not allow their free hand to touch the table.

I hope this settles the argument and hopefully in your favour!

Merry Christmas to you too.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Les Edmunds

Les Edmunds Posted 5 years ago

Thanks very much for your very quick response. It is as I thought.

All the best...........Les



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.