Toss Choice

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

soma sundaram

soma sundaram Asked 7 years ago

Hi alois,

In tournament matches, who will be asked for the toss (I mean - to check who want to serve first). For example, if there is a match between a seeded and unseeded player, I heard that toss will be asked by the referee/umpire to the unseeded player to call for. I am not sure. if so, what is the reason?

Thanks,

Raj


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Raj,

There is no rules as to who is asked to call for the toss.  The umpire usually just puts the coin in front of both players and one will decide to call.  I have never seen it being a problem.  In fact usually each player will offer the other player to call.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

amit k

amit k Posted 6 years ago

Hello,

In case of singles match, I am aware that the player winning the toss can choose to serve or select a court while the other opponent gets the other choice.

Now my question is for the doubles match - if team A (player A1 and player A2) win the toss and elects to serve then can the team B (player B1 and player B2) choose who is going to face which of team A player's server? Basically who decides which players face the serve at the start of the match

 

Thanks,
Amit


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Hi Amit,

That is right.  Team A can decide who is going to serve but then Team B can decide who they want to receive from that server.  This is often a good tactic in doubles to choose to receive first for this purpose.


amit k

amit k Posted 6 years ago

Hi Alios,

Thanks for answering my question. Your reply is in accordance with the ITTF rule 2.13.04 . This rule says - "In each game of a doubles match, the pair having the right to serve first shall choose which of them will do so and in the first game of a match the receiving pair shall decide which of them will receive first; in subsequent games of the match, the first server having been chosen, the first receiver shall be the player who served to him or her in the preceding game. "

<http://www.ittf.com/ittf_handbook/hb.asp?s_Chapter=&s_Description=&s_last_update=&s_number=2&Formhb2004_Page=3#hb2004>

But I am confused with the rule 2.13.01 - as per the rule the toss winning pair has 3 choices - who is going to serve or who is going to receive or which end of the court to take.

If the winning pair - team A opts 3rd option i.e select a table end, then does team B decide who serves/receives....and based on team B's choice...can team A decide which of the player will serve/receive?

 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Hi Amit,

If team A opts to choose ends then Team B have the choice of whether they serve or receive.  

If Team B choose to serve then they can decide who is going to serve from their team.  The other team, Team A, then still decides who is going to receive.

If Team B choose to receive then Team A can decide who is going to serve first and Team B decide who is going to receive first.

 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.