Throwing the ball towards you while serving

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Abdul Hamid Mukry

Abdul Hamid Mukry Asked 3 years ago

Hi Alois,

I see many table tennis players throwing the ball towards themselves before serving. In the rules you said that the ball should be thrown straight up. So, is it allowed?

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Abdul,

This is always a point of contention with the rules.

The rule does say that you have to throw the ball up almost vertically but in most cases there is a lot of tolerance for this.

I think the players that gain speed into their bat with the throw up should be pulled up in particular.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Johnny Mike

Johnny Mike Posted 3 years ago

I think it depends on the umpire. But in general, it's an illegal serve.

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.