Table foul

Rules

Santosh More
Santosh More Asked 13 years ago

If I or my bat touches the table while playing a shot is it a foul? and Can I cross the table while playing a shot?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Santosh,

You don't lose a point if you touch the table. You only lose the point if you move the table or if your free hand touches the table.

You can move anywhere as long as you don't interfere with the other person. You can even go to the other end of the court.  You aren't allowed to touch the net though. 


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Doubles Serving Rules

In this video we go over the somewhat complicated rules of serving for doubles in table tennis. There are a couple of extra rules for doubles that you don't apply to singles. In doubles you always serve from the right hand box diagonally to your opponent's right hand box. Each player has 2 serves each. If you've just been receiving then it's your turn to serve next.

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Santosh More

Santosh More Posted 13 years ago

Thanks, Sir.

Kaustubh Kulkarni

Kaustubh Kulkarni Posted 10 years ago

Can a player cross the barrier between the two tables and go further?


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 10 years ago

Hi Kaustubh,

Yes you are allowed to go past the barriers.  There is no rule to stop you from doing that during a rally.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.