Swinging at the Ball

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Mike Deubig

Mike Deubig Asked 3 years ago

Hi Coach,

I'm curious...during a rally when your opponent lobs the ball and it lands on your side of the table with a very high bounce, what if you totally missed that ball by accident, recover and then hit the ball back. Is that legal? I have done that in the past (on purpose) for entertainment purposes and it happened when I took my eye off the ball but I have never did that during a match. I know if you do that on a serve, it's the other guy's or gal's point! 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Mike,

It is allowed to swing at the ball twice.  I have seen it done recently even on a return of serve and it was very effective... but very difficult to do.

Even on a serve if you miss it the first time and can somehow revere and hit it on the second swing it would be allowed...


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Arjan van Luttikhuizen

Arjan van Luttikhuizen Posted 3 years ago

I accidentally did this as well with a really high ball in a league match. Making a big smashing swing on the upward trajectory of the ball but missing it entirely and then when the ball was on the way down I was ready to drop it behind the net. My opponent was quite bamboozled and was trying to dispute the point but agreed later that since I did not touch the ball on the first swing it was allowed.

That's the important part here - you can only touch the ball once. As long as it is still in play you could spin a pirouette or do push-ups as long as you hit the ball back in time with a single contact.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.