Should the ball pass above the net

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 1 year ago

Abdulrahman  Emam

Abdulrahman Emam Asked 1 year ago

When I was playing the ball bounce on my side with backspin so I shot the ball with sidespin and it rotates around the net and it hits the other side is this considered my point or my opponents point.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 1 year ago

Hi Abdulrahman,

That is a good shot.  The ball doesn't have to go over the net to be in, it can go around.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

D K

D K Posted 1 year ago

I just wanted to ask a similar question.
I wanted to do so because I was a witness of arguement between a junior player clashing with younger girl and the mother of the girl.
The player scored a lot of balls by manipulating the girl to play wide and he flawlessly sent the ball around the net,sometimes even from under the table,so that the ball went in fact under the net assembly that hangs out of the table.
The mother of the girl complained and yelled like mad that this is against the rules. She was accompanied by another woman,who showed them a certificate that she is an A level referee and she can confirm that the aroundnet shot is not a legal shot and that this should be new ball. Both women then said the boy is very unsportsmanlike and that he should not participate.

The fact is the girl had no chance of scoring against the boy either,he was the eventual Silver medal gainer in the tournament while the girl ended up 5th from end (from more than hundred players). So I thought her mother just desperately wanted to give her a chance.
What do you think about this?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 1 year ago

The ball is definitely allowed to go around the net.  Not sure what else was happening in that scenario.


D K

D K Posted 1 year ago

Well,the woman and her referee accopmanion insisted that the rules says the ball must go visibly above the net. That from the top view,it must cross it.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.