Serving to the side

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 1 year ago

Trevor Donovan

Trevor Donovan Asked 1 year ago

I see from previous responses that it is a legal serve but I have never seen a singe video of someone using this technique. It seems like a short serve that goes off the side would be very hard to return and even if they do it would put them out of position for your return hit. 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 1 year ago

Hi Trevor,

You are allowed to serve off the side of the table.  It is only in wheelchair rules that you are not allowed to serve wide so that it goes off the sideline.

If you go too wide it also opens up the angles for the opponent.  It is also going to be a long ball that your opponent can attack as it only bounces once on the table.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.