Serving Rule

Rules

Bp Ghy
Bp Ghy Asked 6 years ago

Hi,

If I toss the ball up in the air to serve and then catch it instead of hitting it because I don't like the placement, is it my opponent's point or do I get to serve again?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

 Hi,

That is your opponents point.  As soon as you throw the ball up it is in play.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.