serving rule

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

alex fernandez

alex fernandez Asked 6 years ago

when I have the ball in the palm of my hand, my hand and the ball must be between the two sidelines?
if they have to be between the sidelines when the ball is thrown up, the ball can leave the sidelines?
thanks


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Alex,

You don't need to have your hand between the sidelines.  It just needs to be behind the end line or the imaginary extension of that.

The toss has to be nearly vertical.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 6 years ago

but players when They sack, throw the ball up with effect ...

and hand, need not have it between the sidelines, but the ball??

and if I sack, the ball, then , can leave the sidelines?

Thanks


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Hi Alex,

I am not sure what you mean by effect.

After you hit the ball it can leave by the sidelines, it doesn't have to go out of the end line.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 6 years ago

i mean by effect, when for example, wang hao, when throw up the ball, the ball, draw a curve, then what is effect?

My question is, When I have the ball in my palm of my hand, the hand that I can not take away from the sidelines,
But the ball?
and another thing, when in the service, I'm throwing the ball up in this shot, the ball can leave the sidelines?
I mean the elevation, not to hit.
Thanks. i don, t understand very much, i, m spanish and my english is terrible ...


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Hi Alex,

No problems we will get it right.

You can take the ball away from the sidelines as long as it is still behind the line of the table.

You shouldn't be able to curve the ball with the throw.  It should go straight up and down.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 6 years ago

ok. So I can have the hand and the ball out of the sidelines and when I throw the ball up can leave even one meter from the sidelines, but always end line behind me, and the elevation, the ball has to draw a straight line. Right?
But I still do not understand how it is legal to kick wang hao, his serve is a curve ...
thank you very much


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Hi Alex,

It is allowed to curve a little because f the natural throw but if it starts to curve too much they will call him for it.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 6 years ago

ok. I already understand the effect. But what I said in the other review, is right?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

The ball does have to go in a straight line when it is thrown up.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 6 years ago

So I can have the hand and the ball out of the sidelines and when I throw the ball up can leave even one meter from the sidelines, but always end line behind me, and the elevation, the ball has to draw a straight line. Right?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Yes that sounds right, just the end line has to be in front of the ball.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.