Serving mistake

Rules

moataz liontoxicator
moataz liontoxicator Asked 13 years ago

Hello Alios,

This is regarding service in games, so my question is that, if i serve and it touches the racket but not the table,is that a let and is played again or is it a foul and is a point for my opponent ?

Thank you,

Moataz


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 13 years ago

Hi Moataz,

As soon as the ball leaves your hand in a serve it is in play.  So even if you don't swing at it and let it bounce it is a fault and the other players point.

So to answer you in your situation it is the other players point because you didn't complete a good serve after the ball was thrown up. 


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


moataz liontoxicator

moataz liontoxicator Posted 13 years ago

Thank you so much Alios,

This solves a lot of my problems,people used to do it over and over again,hitting the racket and going under the table and saying it has to hit both table and racket.

Moataz.

Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 13 years ago
Glad to be able to clear it up.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.