Serving in Doubles

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Rammi Ali

Rammi Ali Asked 6 years ago

When serving during a doubles match, if the ball touches the net on the serve and hits the oppponent's side, does it count as a point or should I reserve again?

Also what if I serve and the ball hits my right side of the table but touches the opponents left side of the table, Do I lose the point?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Rammi,

In doubles the serve has to go from your right hand court diagonally to your opponents right hand court.

As long as the ball touches the correct courts and touches the net on the way through, it is a let and you need to re-serve the ball.

If the ball touches the wrong side of the court then it is the opponent pair’s point.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Rammi Ali

Rammi Ali Posted 6 years ago

Thank you very much for answering!

I have been playing doubles for two days and people said it's ok to touch the net with for some players is like an automatic point since they serve a very short serve. It touches the edge of the net and on falls in my court with no bounce and you can't return it. So imagine my relief right now! 

TT For LIFE


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Happy to be able to help.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.