Serving in Doubles

Rules

Rammi Ali
Rammi Ali Asked 11 years ago

When serving during a doubles match, if the ball touches the net on the serve and hits the oppponent's side, does it count as a point or should I reserve again?

Also what if I serve and the ball hits my right side of the table but touches the opponents left side of the table, Do I lose the point?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi Rammi,

In doubles the serve has to go from your right hand court diagonally to your opponents right hand court.

As long as the ball touches the correct courts and touches the net on the way through, it is a let and you need to re-serve the ball.

If the ball touches the wrong side of the court then it is the opponent pair’s point.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Rules Overview

This video lesson takes you through the essential Table Tennis rules. Watch the video and become an expert in topics such as how to win points, what score to play up to, and how to serve in doubles. There is no need to have arguments over the rules so get all your friends to watch this lesson too!

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Rammi Ali

Rammi Ali Posted 11 years ago

Thank you very much for answering!

I have been playing doubles for two days and people said it's ok to touch the net with for some players is like an automatic point since they serve a very short serve. It touches the edge of the net and on falls in my court with no bounce and you can't return it. So imagine my relief right now! 

TT For LIFE


Alois Rosario

Member Badge Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 11 years ago

Happy to be able to help.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.