Serving from outside the edge lines on the table

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

David Miller

David Miller Asked 5 years ago

I know the rules say that serves must be from behind the baseline (para 2.6.4), and the baseline should be considered as extending out beyond the edges of the table. However on another web site video it is said that you must serve from within the edge lines (also extending out beyond the table) as well, but I don't see this in the rules anywhere.

Can you clarify please.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi David,

You are definitely allowed to serve from outside the line of the table, as long as it is behind the end line of the table or the extension of the end line.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

David Miller

David Miller Posted 5 years ago

Thanks Alois 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.