Serving from outside the edge lines on the table

Rules

David Miller
David Miller Asked 11 years ago

I know the rules say that serves must be from behind the baseline (para 2.6.4), and the baseline should be considered as extending out beyond the edges of the table. However on another web site video it is said that you must serve from within the edge lines (also extending out beyond the table) as well, but I don't see this in the rules anywhere.

Can you clarify please.


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi David,

You are definitely allowed to serve from outside the line of the table, as long as it is behind the end line of the table or the extension of the end line.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


David Miller

David Miller Posted 11 years ago

Thanks Alois 


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.