Rules
Hello,
Recently I've went back to my old high school to coach the club there, and one person asked a question that I wasn't quite sure on the answer, and I thought it would be nice to get some insight from you guys :)
During the serve, if the ball leaves the hand, it is considered to be in play: but what if the ball accidentally just slipped out from your hand (like you know how some players bounce the ball on the table before serving)? In an official match would the umpire call that out or am I just thinking too much here?
Thanks.
Hi Wilson,
Usually the umpire would not say anything. They will call a fault if the player has made an attempt to throw the ball up and then something goes wrong.
When the ball hits the ceiling the point is over. You must hit the ball directly back onto the table otherwise you lose the point. In International tournaments the roof needs to be at least 5 metres above the playing surface but in local competitions you might often encounter much lower ceilings.
Watch NowBecome a free member to post a comment about this question.