Server's racket touches the table

Rules

Ubayeedurrahman Syed
Ubayeedurrahman Syed Asked 11 years ago

Hello, I was wondering if you could clarify whether its opponents point when the server's racket touches the table on a serve?

I believed that its not allowed for the paddle to touch the table when serving however its allowed other times.

Please clarify.

Thanks!


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 11 years ago

Hi Ubayeedurrahman,

It is OK for the bat to touch the table at any time in the rally including the serve.

Hope this clears it up for you.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Jeff Plumb

Member Badge Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 11 years ago

You do have to contact the ball behind the end line on the serve however.


Ubayeedurrahman Syed

Ubayeedurrahman Syed Posted 11 years ago

Thanks Coach yes that clears it up. Also thank you Jeff for your comment.


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.