Separate thumb on service

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

alex fernandez

alex fernandez Asked 6 years ago

Is mandatory to separate the thumb from the rest of the fingers on the serve?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Alex,

Yes that is part of the rules.  It also helps to keep the ball in the palm of your hand because when you separate the thumb you get a little hollow in the palm that you can sit the ball in.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 6 years ago

ok.but, you must separated everything you can your thumb or you can separate the thumb just a little?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

It just has to be apart from the rest of the fingers.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 6 years ago

ok.thank you very much



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.