Seeing the contact of the ball

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Yap Zhi De

Yap Zhi De Asked 3 years ago

Hi Alois

My opponent always leave their hand up till the last minute when the ball comes down then they move away their hand so I have only a little time to watch the contact of the ball. He did not break the rules because he moved his hand away at the very last minute. How can I watch the contact of the serves?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Yap,

He is breaking the rules because the rule says that you should remove the arm as soon as you throw the ball up.  You should be able to see the contact of his serve.

2.06.05  As soon as the ball has been projected, the server’s free arm and hand shall be removed from the space between the ball and the net. 
The space between the ball and the net is defined by the ball, the net and its indefinite upward extension. 

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Yap Zhi De

Yap Zhi De Posted 3 years ago

But Xu Xin did not move his hand away while serving the high toss serve. https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=r04gnhV7ndU


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

He does move it out of the way before he hits the ball.


Yap Zhi De

Yap Zhi De Posted 3 years ago

Yes, yes, he does the serve the same way as Xu Xin. He moves his hand out at the very last moment before he hits the ball which do not allow me to have enough time to see the contact.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

You should be able to see the contact otherwise it is illegal.  Xu Xin moves his hand away in time.


Johan B

Johan B Posted 3 years ago

Doesn't the rule say you have to remove it right after the throw? (Not "on time" before hitting the ball)


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

Yes that is right Johan.  "As soon as the ball has been projected"



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.