Rules of a double hit

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 months ago

Supun Gamage

Supun Gamage Asked 2 months ago

When you are serving or returning a ball if the ball hits both your bat and the hand or vice versa and lands on opponents side is it legal? And what if it only hits your hand or fingers? 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 2 months ago

Hi Supun,

It is legal to hit the ball twice as long as it is unintentional.  If it hits your bat and your hand that is still a good shot and the point is continued.

Up to the wrist is considered part of the bat.  Therefore, even if the ball only hits your hand or finger and goes on it is considered a good shot.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Supun Gamage

Supun Gamage Posted 2 months ago

so the unintentional double hit only accounts up to wrist right ? other areas like your shirt or chest is illegal ?  


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 2 months ago

That is right Supun.


D K

D K Posted 2 months ago

Now the point is what is "unintantional"


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 2 months ago

You don't mean to do it.


D K

D K Posted 2 months ago

I know,but how can you prove you did not mean it



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.