Rules hitting the edge and spinning back

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Daniel Gandelman

Daniel Gandelman Asked 7 years ago

hi coach,

i have two questions and they are: 

1.who's point is it if the ball hits the edge of the table? what happens on a serve as well? 

2. who's point is it if the ball has so much backspin that I hit it to the rival's table and it spins back and touching mine?

best wishes,

daniel. 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Daniel,

If the ball hits the edge it is in.  As long as it hits anywhere on the top of the table it is considered part of the table. 

If your opponent hits the ball onto your side and has enough spin to get it to spin back onto his side before you touch it, then it is their point.  You need to hit it before it goes back or you lose the point. 

Hope this sorts out the rules for you. 


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Kishor Kurian

Kishor Kurian Posted 7 years ago

"You need to hit it before it goes back or you lose the point. "

 

As I read it from one of your replies, it is , I need to hit it before it touches the opponents table right? 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Yes you do Kishor. 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.