Rule change on the ball hitting your finger

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 10 years ago

adam saunders

adam saunders Asked 10 years ago

Evening guys. When I watch table tennis on TV, if the ball hits say a finger on the racket hand that player will lose the point. Ever since joining my club if the ball hits the racket hand accidently but is returned play continues. I do occasionally say the pros don't count hitting the hand but no one seems to care. All seems strange to me. I look forward to what you guys have to say.

You do a great job keep it up!!

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 10 years ago

Hi Adam,

This rule has changed recently.

Now the rule is that if the ball hits the hand or finger accidentally then it is still a good hit.  

Previously if it hit the finger and the bat it was considered a double hit.

This has made things easier because as you said some players would admit to the double hit and others would not.  It was therefore not a level playing field.

I think the new rule makes things easier.

I hope this clears things up. Thanks for the kind words about our work. 

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

adam saunders

adam saunders Posted 10 years ago

wow i must admit that answer has surprised me a bit but i suppose all these things even themselves out.

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.