Return shot hits net support

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Charles Jackson

Charles Jackson Asked 7 years ago

If a return shot hits the metal net support and then lands on the opponent's table, is it still a good shot?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Charles,

Yes, this is still good.  The net post and supports are considered as part of the net.  So this would be the same as i the ball hits the net and goes in.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Aasim Showkat

Aasim Showkat Posted 7 years ago

If the ball hits any part of the table then lands on the opponent's coat (even if it is not possible), is that a correct shot.


Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

Sorry Aasim but I'm not sure what you mean by the opponent's coat.


Aasim Showkat

Aasim Showkat Posted 7 years ago

Sorry i mean that, when the ball hits any part of the table like legs or any other and then lands on opponents side. Is it a good return?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

I don't think it is possible but as soon as it hits anything except the top of the table the ball is out of play and the point ends.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.