Return Hits the Court First, Then the Net Post

Rules

Facundo Pellon
Facundo Pellon Asked 1 month ago

Hi! I have a question:
Player X serves correctly. Player A returns correctly. Player X returns the ball. That last return shot touches Player A's court first, and then the net post. After that, Player A hits the ball, it touches Player X's court, and Player X fails to return it. Who wins the point? After the ball touched the net post, was it still in play?

It would be similar to this rally of Timo Boll vs. Lin Gaoyuan:

https://youtu.be/hmqPdH83Fmk?si=XS4D7rAfyJ7PC_zC&t=90

But touching the net assembly instead of that table's undercarriage.

Thanks!


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 1 month ago

Hi Facundo,

After the ball touches the net post it is still in play so the rally would go on.

Player A makes the last good return so would win the point.

I hope that clears it up for you.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Serving Back into the Net

Whose point is it if I serve the ball with backspin so it bounces back into the net? We explain the rule in this video.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.