Reason for the fault call

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 8 years ago

Saketh R

Saketh R Asked 8 years ago

In this video why did mizutani lose the 4th set last point in which mizutani was 9 and zhang jike was 10?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 8 years ago

HI Saketh,

The incident happens at around 6:50.  The umpire has called a fault for something.  I would say it is because he has his body between the ball and the net during the serve.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Julio Torres

Julio Torres Posted 8 years ago

also I think that he is hitting the ball a little bit beyond the line.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 8 years ago

Do you mean end line or side line?


Julio Torres

Julio Torres Posted 8 years ago

Both. but in this case the one that matters is the end line.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 8 years ago

Great, just wanted to clear it up.


Julio Torres

Julio Torres Posted 8 years ago

Yes I know, it's a common mistake that i made time ago of thinking that hitting the ball beyond the side line is ilegal... 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.