Re-tossing

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Bryan Lee

Bryan Lee Asked 3 years ago

Hey pingskills

My question for you is am I allowed to catch the ball and toss it again during service? I've played tennis for 6 years and I know I'm allowed to do it. I was wondering if that was the same for table tennis.

Thanks heaps!


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Bryan,

You aren't allowed to do this in Table Tennis.  I guess it is to do with the indoor conditions compared to the outdoor conditions of Tennis.

When the ball is thrown up it is already in play.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Bryan Lee

Bryan Lee Posted 3 years ago

Thanks alois 


D K

D K Posted 3 years ago

And what about if I am visually distracted?

A situation like this sometimes happens to me:

 

I prepare to serve,I toss the ball up,and then i see a ball from another table flying into my movement area,although it actually does not interfere with my movement,but I cannot see it properly due to my focusing on my own ball.
What about such a situation?


Jean Balthazar

Jean Balthazar Posted 3 years ago

I guess that will be the umpire's call. He can decide to replay the ball, if he believes you were really distracted, or he can give the point to your opponent, if he thinks that you're just looking for an excuse to replay the ball after a bad throw. You will probably get away with if you do it just once. Obviously I'm not talking about the situation where there really is a ball "flying into your area", in which case this is obviously a let because there are more than one ball in the playing field.


D K

D K Posted 3 years ago

When it happens,I usually catch the ball just a moment after it leaves the hand.

 

And at my level,there are no umpires.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.