Point or let

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 1 year ago

Chris Knowles

Chris Knowles Asked 1 year ago

Hi Alois/Jeff,

If the ball is served and touches the net and is about to touch the receivers side of the table but the receiver volleys the ball with the bat held over the table is it a let serve or a point to the server?

It looks like the server would get the point based on the rules below? (if the ball was volleyed outside the vertical area projected by the table it would be a let).

2.5.8 A player obstructs the ball if he or she, or anything he or she wears or carries, touches it in play when it is above or travelling towards the playing surface, not having touched his or her court since last being struck by his or her opponent

2.09.01.01 if in service the ball, in passing over or around the net assembly, touches it, provided the service is otherwise good or the ball is obstructed by the receiver or his partner;


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 1 year ago

Hi Chris,

It would be a Let because as in 2.9.1.1 the ball is otherwise good and is obstructed by the receiver.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.