Off the wall

Rules

Craig Baguley
Craig Baguley Asked 7 years ago

We were playing in an enclosed space (squash court) and my opponent made a wild mishit. The ball hit the wall first, then landed on the net and trickled on to my side and I couldn't return it. Whose point is that? If the answer is that it's my opponent's point, whose point would it be if the ball had hit the wall and come down on my side of the table without touching the net? Thanks.

Craig 

 

 


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Craig,

As soon as it touches something other than the table or net it is out of play and the players that hit the ball loses the point.  That happens even if it hits the net on the way through after hitting something else.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.