Obstruction

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

alex fernandez

alex fernandez Asked 6 years ago

if the ball touches the net, the ball goes to the zone of that has beaten, but the ball goes up, I skirted the table and hit the ball before it bounces in his zone, would be an obstruction?
is a very strange situation but I would like to know.
thanks. i don't know if you understand me.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Alex,

If the ball is still over the table then it would be obstruction.  If the ball has passed over the table and gone out then it would be your point.

In the Handbook for Match Officials it says:

The intention of “obstruction” is that a player will be penalised under this law only if he or she intercepts the ball in a way that is likely to prevent an opponent making a good return. There is no obstruction if the interception occurs when the ball has passed beyond his or her end line, has passed outward over the sideline or is otherwise moving away from the playing surface.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 6 years ago

yes.but if my opponent, hit the ball, the ball touch the net, and the ball comes back again to the opponent zone, but before the ball touch his zone , I run for his zone and I touch the ball ,¿what happens?

yes,I will be very silly if I do this hit, but what happens if I do this hit?

thanks


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Not sure but it is moving away from the playing zone so it may not be obstruction...  Very silly though.


alex fernandez

alex fernandez Posted 6 years ago

jajajajaja.and if my opponent, hit the ball touch the net and again the ball touch the net and i hit the ball.this hit will be obstruction yes?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

I guess so...



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.