Number of towel breaks

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 years ago

Nilabhra Paul

Nilabhra Paul Asked 2 years ago

Hey coach, is there a limit to the number of towel breaks in a game?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 2 years ago

Hi Nilabhra,

You are only allowed to towel after every 6 points in a game.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Mehmet Demir

Mehmet Demir Posted 2 years ago

how many time break we can take? every  set or only once all of game? and is it 1 minute?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 2 years ago

Hi Mehmet,

You have 1 minute between games and also there is on Time Out opportunity per match per player or doubles pair.  The Time Out is also for up to 1 minute.


Wilson Cheah

Wilson Cheah Posted 2 years ago

In regards to time-outs, I was following the world championship recently and I noticed a slight change in regards to time-out rules. The moment the person calls time-out returns to the table, even if the one minute is not up, the time-out is over at that moment. Just an observation


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 2 years ago

Hi Wilson,

This has always been the rule.  The person that has called the time out can call an end to the timeout at any stage during the one minute.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.