Losing on a serve

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Thomas Parker

Thomas Parker Asked 7 years ago

If the score is point to something and you serve it off the table can you lose, I have heard that it is not possible to lose on a serve but I guess it has happened on the Olympics. Thank you and keep up the good work.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Thomas,

If you make a mistake with your serve you do lose a point straight away.  In Table Tennis you don't get a second chance with your serve.

That is one of the reasons that it is important to practice your serves a lot during your training.

It even happens at the Olympics sometimes.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Thomas Parker

Thomas Parker Posted 7 years ago

That clears up so much thank you!


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

No problems Thomas.  If you have any other queries just let me know.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.