Let or not?

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Collin Hill

Collin Hill Asked 7 years ago

Hi Alois & Jeff,

What if I serve a ball that hits the net and looks like its going to be a let and my opponent hits it before it hits his side of the table...(keeping in mind that it was going to be a let) is that considered a let or my point because he hit it before it hit his side of the table?

Thanks guys


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Collin,

If the ball hits the net on the serve and then is about to bounce on the table but is hit by your opponent, it would still be a let.  If the ball had not hit the net on the way through it would be your point.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Collin Hill

Collin Hill Posted 7 years ago

Ok Thanks Alois :D


utkarsh agarwal

utkarsh agarwal Posted 7 years ago

what is let?

 


Collin Hill

Collin Hill Posted 7 years ago

It's when you serve the ball and it touches the net but it still lands in. Its a do over :)


utkarsh agarwal

utkarsh agarwal Posted 7 years ago

ok tthanks

 


mat huang

mat huang Posted 7 years ago

When i first played tt, i actually thought it was net instead of let. Well its let when it hit the net so haha


Martin Elliget

Martin Elliget Posted 7 years ago

I think let comes from filet, French word for net.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 7 years ago

That is interesting Martin. I hadn't heard that before.


mat huang

mat huang Posted 7 years ago

Thanks



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.