Is the ball still in play?

Rules

Richard Gibson
Richard Gibson Asked 14 years ago

Is the ball still in play if it bounces from your opponent's court back over the net into your court without your opponent touching the ball?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 14 years ago

Hi Peter,

No, the point s finished.  The ball has to be hit before it comes back so it is your point.


Recommended Video

Can You Hide Your Serve? The Official Rule Explained

Are you allowed to hide your serve in table tennis? 🤔 Let’s break down the official rules and clear up any confusion! In this video, we explain:

✅ What the ITTF rules say about hiding your serve
✅ Why hidden serves are illegal and how umpires enforce the rule
✅ What you can (and can’t) do when serving in a match

Mastering a legal serve is key to fair play and improving your game. Watch now to make sure you’re not unintentionally breaking the rules! 🏓

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.