Hitting the ball with the edge of the bat

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 5 years ago

Dimitris Stavropoulos

Dimitris Stavropoulos Asked 5 years ago

Hi Jeff and Alois,

I have two questions to ask:

  1. I have hit the ball many times with the edge of my bat (where there's no rubber), the handle of the bat, my finger and the rest of my hand. I think the rules say all that are legal. Am I wrong?

  2. If the ball, while going out, hits the post of the net and then hits the table, is it in or out?

Thank you,

Dimitris from Greece


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 5 years ago

Hi Dimitris,

The ball is allowed to hit the edge of the bat or even the handle.  If it still goes in then it is a good shot.

If the ball hits the net post and then goes in it is also still a good shot.  It doesn’t happen very often but it is allowed.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Dimitris Stavropoulos

Dimitris Stavropoulos Posted 5 years ago

Thanks a lot!



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.