Hitting the ball with Racket not held

Rules

yuva adabala
yuva adabala Asked 4 years ago

In a situation where I'm in the left corner my opponent hit a smash on to the right of the table .

Where I clearly cannot reach it, So I tossed the Racket on to right of the table so that it hit the ball and 

Ball returned to the opponents table and he left it !!! 

So finally is it my point or my opponent's point???


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Yuva,

Nice skills... but unfortunately it is your opponent’s point.  The racket must be in your hand to be a legal hit. 


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.