Hitting the ball with finger and double hit

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Michal Michal

Michal Michal Asked 6 years ago

Hello!

I found this video https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e-bDbu2W6LE about hitting the ball with finger. 

Is it written anywhere in ittf regulations? Because I can't find it and I would like to show it to my coach, who says that hitting the ball with finger equals losing your point.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Michal,

This rule was changed very recently.  They added the word "deliberately" into the rules regarding hitting the ball twice.

2.10.01.06  if an opponent deliberately strikes the ball twice in succession; 

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Michal Michal

Michal Michal Posted 6 years ago

Thanks! 

Can I have another question here? What happens if I throw the ball upwards with intention to serve, but I don't hit the ball and I don't even make a move to hit it and the ball falls on the floor. 

For example I want to serve, I toss the ball up and, at the moment when the ball is in the air I realise, that I am not ready to serve, so I quickly decide to not move and wait until the ball falls down on the floor. Do I lose the point then? 

And is it the same if the ball falls on the table?

 


Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

Hi Michal, As soon as you throw the ball up it is in play, so if you don't hit the ball you lose the point.

Michal Michal

Michal Michal Posted 6 years ago

Thank you Alois and thank you Jeff!! You helped me a lot!



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.