Hitting the ball when it is out

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 6 years ago

Roswell Engelbert

Roswell Engelbert Asked 6 years ago

Coach , if my opponent put the ball way out from the table and i hit the ball and the ball hit the opponent table from the side of the net, am i still scoring or my opponent get the score?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Engelbert,

That would be your point.  Once the ball goes out past the end line before it hits the table, it is your point.  So even after that if you hit it the ball is already dead because it has gone past the end line.I hope this clears up the rule for you.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Kaustubh Kulkarni

Kaustubh Kulkarni Posted 6 years ago

Earlier, some years before there was an unfair rule that if your opponent hits the ball outside the playing surface, and if it touches your paddle or paddle hand, you lose the point.

This rule was changed in 1990s.

However, the current rule was implemented in 2000.

I heard this from my coach.

 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.