Hitting the ball

Rules

Paul Unknown
Paul Unknown Asked 17 years ago

After the ball has been served and returned does the ball have to touch table of the the side of the player hitting the ball? if so whos pont ? if not whos point ?

Also in your last paregraph of your rules page it refers to hitting the ball on the full . what is hitting it on the full  ?


Jeff Plumb
Member Badge Jeff Plumb Answered 17 years ago

Hi Paul,

After the ball has been served, you must return the ball over the net without touching your own side of the table. If you are returning serve you hit the ball into your own side of the table you lose the point.

 When you hit the ball before it bounces, you are hitting the ball on the full.


Recommended Video

Table Tennis Video Tutorial

Hitting the Ball on the Full

In this video we explain what happens when someone hits the ball before it bounces in a rally. This is also known as hitting the ball on the full. The point stop immediately when this happens but who's point is it? This depends on where the ball was hit. Watch the video to find out more.

Watch Now

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.