Hitting Fingers or Hand Rules

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 10 years ago

Ian Farquhar

Ian Farquhar Asked 10 years ago

What is the ruling when (1) the ball is contacted on either bat and fingers at the same time (2) the ball contacts only the fingers or hand) during a match? This is referring to the playing hand for both examples.

Most people say that the point is good only up to the wrist because the arm is an extension of the bat handle. Please clear this rule up. I'm confused.

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 10 years ago

Hi Ian,

Up to the wrist is considered part of the bat.  If the ball hits the finger or hand it is a good hit.

There is also a new rule that says if the ball contacts both the hand and the bat and it is in one swing and unintentional then it is still a good hit.

So in both of your cases it is a good hit.

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!

Become a free member to post a comment about this question.