Hiding the Serve

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 7 years ago

Sourav Mehra

Sourav Mehra Asked 7 years ago

Hi Alois and Jeff!

I wanted to ask if there is any rule which tell us that a player cannot serve under his free hand.  My opponent serves me with his hand over his action when he makes the contact on the ball with his racket.I can't see the ball for nearly for 0.1 seconds.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 7 years ago

Hi Sourav,

There certainly is a rule about this.

2.06.04

From the start of service until it is struck, the ball shall be above the level of the playing surface and behind the server's end line, and it shall not be hidden from the receiver by the server or his or her doubles partner or by anything they wear or carry. 

So as you can see his serve would be illegal.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.