Going in opponent's court

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Cristian B

Cristian B Asked 3 years ago

Hi,

Is it allowed to go into opponents court ?

I am able to produce quite consistently a serve that bounces back to my court and I think that the opponent should not come with the racket or with the body into my court after smashing it .  

My argument is that I can put my bat right there in my side of the court and in this case he/she will hit me. 

Moreover, if going to opponents court were allowed I can go there and prevent him/her to hit by occupying the space. I think that the sport is non-contact !!!!! I know that there's no such rule but there's also no rule that prevents one of the players of pumching the other guy either. Perhaps we need such a rule, in tennis there is one. 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Christian,

The other player is allowed to come onto your side of the court.  If you stand close to the net, he can hit the ball at your bat or you and if you are over the table then he gets the point anyway.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

Here's a video response to a very similar question.


Marcin Lonak

Marcin Lonak Posted 3 years ago

What happens when i am already on the opponents side forced by his heavy backspin, and I play the ball back(not to my opponent, but aiming in to my side, but of course bouncing on the opponent side first)? that way my opponent has no chance at all. if its my point, then what happens if i aim for the net? after hitting the net the ball bounces on opponents side. does it count as a net roller? is it still my point?

thanks 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 3 years ago

Yes Marcin.that would be your point.  It would be spectacular to see as well.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.