Gameplay rule

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Soham Maji

Soham Maji Asked 6 years ago

I play in my building club.

i want to ask you a question .

during gameplay when the ball touches the net then till how much bounce we can play it.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 6 years ago

Hi Soham,

The ball is only allowed to bounce once on your side before you hit it.  This is even if the ball hits the net on the way through.  It can be a difficult ball to get back.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Soham Maji

Soham Maji Posted 6 years ago

I m asking u that if i hit the ball during gameplay and lands on opponents side then on how many bounce can he hit the ball.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

He must hit it after one bounce.


Soham Maji

Soham Maji Posted 6 years ago


Soham Maji

Soham Maji Posted 6 years ago

Can we hit directly or after 2 bounce


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

The ball has to bounce on your side of the table before you hit it.


Jeff Plumb

Jeff Plumb from PingSkills Posted 6 years ago

So to summarise Soham, you cannot hit the ball without it bouncing and you can't hit it after it has bounced twice.

Soham Maji

Soham Maji Posted 6 years ago

Thank u


Soham Maji

Soham Maji Posted 6 years ago

Thank u so much SirAlois and sir Jeff


reynaldo difuntorum

reynaldo difuntorum Posted 4 years ago

Hi Alois and Jeff

my Question is" last Saturday I play on the tournament and he was higher rated than me the match score 2-1 and the game point 10-8 , we have a good rally I was attacking him at least 4-5 rallies. The last rally I hit the ball very wide angle and hit the next table player. It's that consider my winning match ?? Thanks 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

Hi Reynaldo,

There are no rules written down regarding this because in International competition it wouldn’t happen.  However, I think it would be considered a let because something else got in the way of the rally, otherwise it wouldn’t be fair for your opponent who didn’t have a proper opportunity to get to the ball.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.