Free hand on table after hitting winner

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 3 years ago

Harold Thompson

Harold Thompson Asked 3 years ago

I understand that typically placing ones free hand on the table is an automatic loss of point.  However, if placing of the free hand occurs immediately after hitting a winner is it still a loss of point?  For example the free hand is placed on the table after hitting a winner to regain balance.  My playing partner and I have different opinions.  I say it's a loss of point and he says if the person does not move the table and the free hand isn't placed on the table until after hitting the winner the point counts for the person hitting the ball.  Who is correct?

Thanks

Harold


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Harold,

It depends on when the point is considered to be over.  If your hand touches the table before the end of the point then it is a point against you.

The point is over when the ball hits something else such as the ground or the other person or bounces twice.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.