Foul Serve

Rules

Tayyib Rizwan
Tayyib Rizwan Asked 3 years ago

Hi
If someone does a wrong serve like not tossing the ball up before serving but other than that, the serve is perfectly fine, what happens? Is the serve repeated or is it the opponent's point? Or something else?


Alois Rosario
Member Badge Alois Rosario Answered 3 years ago

Hi Tayyib,

If the serve is illegal in any part then it is a point against the server.

The umpire may warn the player in this situation but they don't have to.


Recommended Video

Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules

In this video, we break down the Top 5 Most Misunderstood Table Tennis Rules that even experienced players often get wrong. Knowing these rules can prevent disputes, boost your confidence, and help you play with a clear head. We’ll cover common misconceptions like:

  • The correct toss height for serving 🎯
  • How many let serves can you do before it is a fault 🚦
  • Why touching the table with your free hand is a no-no 🖐️
  • When volleying loses you the point ❌
  • Whether you are allowed to hit around or under the net 🔄

Watch Now

Thoughts on this question


Jasper Low

Jasper Low Posted 3 years ago

Subsequent foul serves mean that the receiver will be awarded the point. 


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.