Dropping your bat

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Bennett Brown

Bennett Brown Asked 4 years ago

A while ago Andrew asked a question about dropping your bat during the rally, and you responded saying that you can pick it back up but not hit it with your hand.  I thought there was a rule saying that if you hit the ball with your wrist and up, even an unintentional double hit, it still counts?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Bennett,

That is all true but you have to have the racket in your hand if it hits your finger or hand up to the wrist.

Here are some relevant sections of the rules:

   
2.05.05  The racket hand is the hand carrying the racket. 
2.05.07  A player strikes the ball if he or she touches it in play with his or her racket, held in the hand, or with his or her racket hand below the wrist. 

Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

No comments yet!


Become a free member to post a comment about this question.