Dropping the ball

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 4 years ago

Yap Zhi De

Yap Zhi De Asked 4 years ago

Hi Alois

If a person drops the ball from his palm accidentally before throwing the ball, is this counted as the opponent's point?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 4 years ago

Hi Yap,

In theory it would be a fault however, if the player hasn't made an attempt to throw the ball up, the umpire and opponent usually allow the server just to serve again.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 4 years ago

Hi Yap,

I have had a correction from Graeme Ireland our rules expert.  He is the Technical Commissioner for the ITTF and is the mentor to the Umpires and Referees Committee.  So obviously a very knowledge man on the rules of the game.

He has pointed out this rule to me.  Thanks again Graeme.

Graeme says... accidentally dropping the ball isn’t a fault as the rally hasn’t started. Following is the relevant rule (my highlight):

 

2.5.2 The ball is in play from the last moment at which it is stationary on the palm of the free hand before being intentionally projected in service until the rally is decided as a let or a point.


Yap Zhi De

Yap Zhi De Posted 4 years ago

 Thanks



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.