Doubles Table Tennis Let Serve Rule

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 2 weeks ago

Jay Mehta

Jay Mehta Asked 1 month ago

Hello Alois,

Could you please clarify the below questions for TT doubles:

1. While serving, if the first bounce of the ball is in my partners court and then hits the net and falls in the correct opponent's court, is it a let serve or does the opponent get a point?

2. While serving, if the first bounce is in the correct court, but the ball hits the net and falls in the wrong opponent's court, is it considered a let serve or does the opponent get a point?

3.  In both these situations, if there is a dispute on where the ball has landed, what is the best way to resolve the dispute.  Consider it as a re-serve or give the benefit of doubt to the server or take a vote?

Thank you very much.

Regards,

Jay Mehta


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 1 month ago

Hi Jay,

1. This is a let as it is a correct serve apart from the fact it hits the net on the way over.

2. This is a fault and the receiver gets the point as it hasn't bounced in the correct side of the table.

3. The umpire, if there is one, rules on where the ball lands.  If there is no umpire then it is more a matter of coming to a solution between the players.  Play a let is usually the best way to go in a non official situation.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jay Mehta

Jay Mehta Posted 2 weeks ago

Hello Alois,   Thank you for your response, however, these questions were for TT doubles rules.  

So, #1 is not a completely correct serve, because while serving, the first bounce was in the wrong quadrant (ball bounced in my partners quadrant), then the bill hits the net but falls in the correct quadrant on the opponents side.  Is it still considered a let serve?

#2 is exactly opposite.  The first bounce is in the correct quadrant, ball hits the net and falls in wrong quadrant on opponents side.  This, I think should be a point for the opponent.  Please confirm?

 

 

 


Nigel C

Nigel C Posted 2 weeks ago

Jay,

The first is a point to your opponents as well, a legal serve for doubles must bounce on the correct quarter at your end and at at your opponents end. If it fails to do this then clipping the net is of no relevance at all.

The second is a point to your opponents for the same reason as above.

All conditions for a correct serve have to be met for clipping the net to matter. So if you fail to throw the ball up properly it can't be a let.


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 2 weeks ago

Hi Jay,

Sorry, I didn't understand that the first bounce was in the wrong quadrant.  That would be your opponent's point as would the second serve for the same reason.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.