Deuce rules

Table Tennis Rules

Last updated 1 year ago

Jim Martin

Jim Martin Asked 1 year ago

Say the score is 9/10, my opponents favor, and I just got the serve (so still two serves per player).  

I win the point of my first serve, so it’s 10 up (deuce).  Does deuce start immediately and the next serve goes to my opponent (so I don’t get my second serve), or do I get to serve once more and then serves alternate one serve each player (per deuce rule) until the end of the game? 


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 1 year ago

Hi Jim,

This situation would not occur because in a game you change serve after the first two points and then every two points after that. So it would be a natural change of serve at 10 all. Then you change serve every point after that.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Jim Martin

Jim Martin Posted 1 year ago

 

Silly me- that’s true, so at 10-10 there would always be a serve change anyway.  It was a hypothetical question, but we didn’t think about it enough to realize. Thanks! 



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.