Coaching qualifications

Table Tennis Discussion

Last updated 9 years ago

Rene van der Kleij

Rene van der Kleij Asked 9 years ago

Is there a qualification needed to assist (coach) a player during the match, by ITTF rulings?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario Answered 9 years ago

Hi Rene,

No there are no requirements. There are now ITTF coaching levels but they are not compulsory for coaching in a match.  This would be really difficult to do.


Notify me of updates
Add to Favourites
Back to Questions

Thoughts on this question

Rene van der Kleij

Rene van der Kleij Posted 9 years ago

Now, if local or National Federations rule otherwise, and tournaments are held under the ITTF rulings, what would be mandatory?

Also what would be the correct denomination of the physical space reserved for the person that gives assistance?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 9 years ago

Hi Rene,

I would think that they could add their own rules if they are organising the tournament.  This sounds like an issue has come up.

The space reserved for a coach is usually a few metres square.  They aren't allowed to communicate with anyone else during the match.


Rene van der Kleij

Rene van der Kleij Posted 9 years ago

So electronic communication devices to communicate with spotter or statistics, like in volley and other sports are out of the question?


Alois Rosario

Alois Rosario from PingSkills Posted 9 years ago

Yes, they are not allowed.



Become a free member to post a comment about this question.